User Tools

Site Tools


Factory reset on Turris Omnia

The Turris Omnia router has a reset button on its back panel. When you press and immediately release the reset button the router resets and boots into ordinary Turris OS (mode 1). To enter other reboot modes depress the reset button and wait for LEDs to indicate the number of the desired mode. Then release the reset button.

LEDs represent a counter. The number of shining LEDs (regardless of the color) indicate the current mode. The last LED transition from green to red. When it turns red, next LED lights up and the counter is incremented. When the counter reaches 12 (number of LEDs) it restarts from 1.

When the reset button is released the LED counter blink three times to confirm the selected reset mode. If the selected mode is different from the required just depress the reset button and start the mode selection process again.

Available reset modes:

  • 1 LED: Standard (re)boot
  • 2 LEDs: Rollback to latest snapshot
  • 3 LEDs: Rollback to factory reset
  • 4 LEDs: Re-flash router from flash drive
  • 5 LEDs or more: Boot to rescue shell

Release the reset button immediately after the required number of LEDs starts shining (regardless of color). Do not unnecessarily prolong holding the reset button when the last LED is lit. By this you decrease a chance of accidentally transitioning to the next mode at the same moment when the button is released.

After the selected mode indication is performed all LEDs turn blue for a moment and then a light wave indicate completion of the first stage boot.

Standard (re)boot

1 LED

Router is going to reboot. During the boot process the LEDs are going to indicate operation of assigned peripherals. When the boot process is completed all LEDs turn green for a moment and then transition back to operation indicator mode.

Rollback to latest snapshot

2 LEDs

This mode may help in situation when you lose network connectivity to your Turris Omnia router during experiments or due to any other reason that is bound to the internal state of the router. You can simply return to the latest snapshot of the running system by selecting the proper reset mode. For more information about the snapshots please visit schnapps.

During the course of the operation all LEDs are going to turn green. After a while the LEDs turn red. From this moment on the router must not be restarted or powered off. When the rollback operation is completed the router automatically restarts. Completion of the snapshot rollback process is indicated by turning all LEDs green for a moment during the boot into the selected snapshot. After that the LEDs transition to the standard operation indicator mode.

Rollback to factory reset

This operation erases all settings and all data stored in the router.

3 LEDs

All data, settings and software in the internal storage of the router are erased and replaced by the factory defaults. Internally the file system rolls back to the first snapshot (the first snapshot has been created in the factory). Please use this mode when you lose your password and all means of access to the router or when the return to the latest snapshot (mode 2) is not sufficient to repair broken system.

Indication of the process progress is the same as in case of rollback to the latest snapshot (mode 2).

Re-flash router

This operation erases all settings and all data stored in the router.

4 LEDs

When the Turris Omnia router operating system is broken beyond repair, please use the following method for restoring the operating system image.

Download the latest version of Turris Omnia image form https://repo.turris.cz/omnia/medkit/omnia-medkit-latest-full.tar.gz. Save the file omnia-medkit-last.tar.gz to USB flash to the root directory and put the USB flash to the front panel USB connector of the Turris Omnia router. The Turris Omnia router supports following filesystems: ext2/3/4, BtrFS, XFS and FAT. After that use reset button to select mode 4 (4 LEDs).

The Turris Omnia router will write the system image from the USB flash to the internal eMMC storage.

Process of rewriting the internal storage takes considerably longer time than snapshot rollback in the previous cases. However, indiaction of the process progress is the same as in case of rollback to the lastest snapshot (mode 2).

When the process has completed the taks you may remove the USB flash.

Rescue shell

This option is for true geeks.

5 or more LEDs

This mode allows you to enter a read-only rescue image. You can use UART serial console to connect to the router's rescue shell.

If you accidentally enter this mode you may reset the router by briefly pressing the reset button. You can do this only in this particular mode. Do not reset the router in mode 2-4!